h1

80s POP Show!

May 28, 2009

The Autumn Society is hosting their third official gallery show and it looks to be the most TOTALLY RADICAL SHOW EVER! The 80s Pop Show! will be an exhibition of artwork inspired by movies, cartoons, toys, and video games from the 1980s. The thing that I remember the most about the eighties, being the age I was, is the toys. So I started by compiling a list of people’s favorite toys from the 80s (great conversation starter by the way, if you’re the kind of person that likes meeting new people everywhere you go!). In doing some research I discovered that many of the more feminine and cutesy characters were originally created by greeting card companies and only later became toys and/or cartoons. For example, Rainbow Brite was created by Hallmark and Strawberry Shortcake was created by American Greetings. I found this amusing that they were essentially greeting card corporate adversaries, so it was only natural to pit them against one another for my piece, “Rainbow Bloodbath”:

Rainbow Bloodbath

I also did a second piece, “Care Bear Carnage”,  pitting one of the Care Bears (also created by American Greetings) against the popular 80s talking bear toy Teddy Ruxpin.

Care Bear Carnage

Both are giclee prints on archival canvas, signed and numbered editions of 25, and will soon be available from my online shop. Print number one of each piece will be available at the show, framed in hand painted purple frames. It doesn’t get more eighties than that.

80s Pop Show!

80s Pop Show!
Friday, June 5, 2009
6:00–9:00 pm
Brave New Worlds
45 N. 2nd Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106

5 comments

  1. […] “Rainbow Bloodbath” by Jude Buffum: […]


  2. […] Carnage”, which I created for the Autumn Society’s 80s Pop! Show, has been selected to appear in American Illustration 29, which will be released in November of […]


  3. there are many greeting card options that you can see in online stores but i love those that generate cute sounds ‘~.


  4. Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the images on this blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog. Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.


  5. Howdy I am so grateful I found your webpage, I really found you by accident, while I was searching on Aol for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a tremendous post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the minute but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the superb work.



Leave a comment