h1

Judd Apatow Tribute Show

November 27, 2012

Opening Tuesday, December 4th, Gallery 1988 presents A Tribute to Judd Apatow, an art show inspired by the comedic producer. Best of all, Judd will be hosting the event, and if you’re able to attend (RSVP at gallery1988melrose@gmail.com) you might just see some other familiar faces.

For my contribution, I chose the infamous dodgeball scene from Freaks and Geeks. Sometimes I’ll try and reference specific games and/or genres in my work. When I decided to illustrate Freaks and Geeks, I tried to think if there were any games from the 80s that had to do with high school and bullies, since that’s an integral part of the show. I kept coming back to River City Ransom for the NES, and when I realized the same company, using the same graphic style, made the game Super Dodge Ball, I knew exactly what I wanted to do.

“Smear Weir”
Giclee print on canvas • 19.75″ x 9″ • S/N Edition of 25

smear-weir-jude-buffum-3

A Tribute to Judd Apatow
December 4–30, 2012

Opening Reception:
Tuesday, December 4th, 7–10pm
Hosted by Judd Apatow

Gallery 1988 Melrose
7020 Melrose Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90038
www.nineteeneightyeight.com

2 comments

  1. […] Buffum’s blog for more details & background on the piece, and visit Gallery 1988′s opening for the show Tuesday, December 4th, at 7PM for a chance at […]


  2. […] (and Hills and Farrells) by Casey Weldon Gallery 1998′s tumblr Sweet Brick by Jon Defreest Smear Weir by Jude Buffum Superbad by Kevin Woody Bill Haverchuck by Dave Quiggle Superbad by Jeff Boyes The […]



Leave a comment