h1

Harold and Maude

April 11, 2014

I could talk for hours about “Harold and Maude”, the 1971 dark comedy about one of the most unlikely romances in cinema. It’s about embracing death to get the most out of life, and embracing life to get the most out of death. It’s about choices; living in the world prescribed for you by society, or forging your own, consequences be damned. Ultimately it’s about choosing to somersault, or to suicide. It’s one of those films you just have to see to believe, and if you haven’t watched it, you should go do so right now!
I created this piece, “Somersault Suicide”, as an exploration of those choices that Harold faces. I rarely center my figures in a composition, but for this one it seemed conceptually appropriate to highlight the two worlds he straddles as he searches for the secret to living.

Image

“Somersault Suicide”, 2014

You can buy a print here (or a pillow if Bud Cort’s creepy visage is your idea of home decor)!

One comment

  1. I’ve been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or weblog posts on this kind of house . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this website. Studying this information So i am satisfied to convey that I’ve an incredibly good uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I most no doubt will make sure to do not fail to remember this site and provides it a glance regularly.



Leave a comment