h1

Los Angeles (Part I) – I Am 8-Bit 2008

August 29, 2008

I just got back from a two week stay in Los Angeles. I had work in two shows, the fourth annual I Am 8-Bit show and the second annual Crazy 4 Cult show. I have quite a few photos, videos, and things to say, so I’m going to be splitting this up into several blog posts. My first one will focus on the I Am 8-Bit show, which was held at the World of Wonder Storefront Gallery. I was curious as to how the show would play out (no pun intended) at a new venue. The line to get in when I arrived answered that curiosity with a resounding “Holy crap I’m glad I am on the guest list!”

Fortunately for those who had to wait two hours or more to get in there was plenty to see even from outside the gallery. Situated in the storefront windows in between giant Piranha Plants, vintage gaming peripherals, and giant 8-bit graphics courtesy of Blik were several of the Nerdcore calendar girls, playing video games wearing very little…

Upon entering the venue, spectators were treated to an array of paintings, prints, sculptures, and live music all inspired and influenced by the 8-bit games of the 80s and early 90s.

I did take some pictures, but there are much better galleries online if you want to check out some of the artwork, so I would suggest checking out either Vinyl Pulse or NOTCOT for some sweet pics. Here are a few of my favorite pieces though:


Super Mario Armageddon by Gerald de Jesus (who also did the amazing cover art for the new Megaman 9)


Dr. Mario by Amanda Visell


Bowser by Joe Ledbetter

And of course…

And On the Seventh Day, R.O.B. Rested by Jude Buffum

If you’re interested in purchasing a copy of my print (20″x20″ giclee on canvas, edition of 25, $175) you can email derek@iam8bit.net for availability.

There was also a cool private party behind the gallery, which boasted, among other things, an open bar, a 6 foot Atari joystick that actually worked, and a flamboyant young fellow in military garb.

I also did an impromptu interview with Coin-Op TV. I was a guest on their show the following Thursday, but will post that video in a separate blog.

2 comments

  1. Hey Homey, I can’t believe nobody will comment, well I am! This is awesome, I love your work and your description. You sound the most intelligent out of all of the other guys haha. Looks like it was alot of fun.


  2. So awesome! You should be so proud of yourself! I know I’m proud of you!



Leave a Reply

