h1

I Am 8-Bit 2.007

April 15, 2007

Tuesday, April 17th will be the opening reception for Gallery 1988‘s I Am 8-Bit 2.007, in which I will have four paintings (pics shown here are of the giclée prints, not the original paintings). The I Am 8-Bit show has always been an experiment in nostalgic re-imagining. For my series, entitled “Happy Endings”, I sought to answer the question “Why does Mario really want to rescue the Princess?” When I was a child, the answer was simple: “To beat the game!” But as I grew older and more jaded, I started to question his motives.

Though these pieces were possibly the most “offensive” at the show, there was an underlying message to them beyond the initial shock and humor. The real question I was asking was this: Is it our biological need for sex that ultimately drives our relentless competition for money, power, and fame? Is it all just one big “game” we play in the hope of somehow satisfying our most animal instincts by achieving the highest “score”?

Happy Ending #1 – Donkeypunch

Happy Ending #2 – A Link to the Crass

Happy Ending #3 – Mr. XXX

Happy Ending #4 – World 6-9

Gallery 1988
7020 Melrose Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90038
323.937.7088 

5 comments

  1. I think that is brilliant!


  2. All I can say is….shamWOW!


  3. […] The thing I love about Jude’s work is it’s so awesomely geeky! Another of my favourites is Jude’s submission for I Am 8-Bit 2.007. […]


  4. I bought the Bowser/Peach in Philly several years ago. It is the most respected piece of art I own.


  5. […] I Am 8-Bit 2.007 « Jude Buffum […]



Leave a Reply

